20 Sony FE 20mm F1.8 G vs 24 Sony FE 24mm F1.4 GM
Sony FE 20mm F1.8 G vs Sony FE 24mm F1.4 GM: our pick for most people is the Sony FE 24mm F1.4 GM. Pick the Sony FE 20mm F1.8 G if you carry it all day or travel light, or you want a wider view at the short end (weight: 373 g vs 445 g; focal length: 20 mm vs 24 mm). Pick the Sony FE 24mm F1.4 GM if you shoot in low light or want a blurrier background, or you want more reach at the long end (widest aperture: f/1.8 vs f/1.4; focal length: 20 mm vs 24 mm).
The pick, in points
Lead for a pick: 1Sony 20
4points
Wins on weight and focal length (widest).
Sony 24
5points
Wins on widest aperture and focal length (longest).
Each real difference scores its importance for the side that wins it; a lead under 1 is “it depends”. How the weights work
The Sony 24 on its ownThe Sony 20 on its ownAll Sony E-mount lenses
Where they differ
5 of 17 specsEach bar is the gap as a share of the smaller value, on one scale from 0 to 100%; an arrow end is a gap past 100%. The dashed tick marks where a gap starts to count.
Widest aperture
Importance 3
0.4 apart (28.6%), to the Sony 24
3points
Weight
Importance 2
72 g apart (19.3%), to the Sony 20
2points
Focal length (longest)
Importance 2
4 mm apart (20%), to the Sony 24
2points
Focal length (widest)
Importance 2
4 mm apart (20%), to the Sony 20
2points
Closest focus, wide end
Importance 1
Sony 200.19 m3AF modeSony 240.24 m4
0.05 m apart (26.3%), not counted: compared only between lenses of the same focal length (widest)
0points
Also different, no weight reads them6
Length
Sony 2084.7 mm3Sony 2492.4 mm4
7.7 mm apart (9.1%)
Not weighted
Diameter
Sony 2073.5 mm3Sony 2475.4 mm4
1.9 mm apart (2.6%)
Not weighted
Maximum magnification, wide end
Sony 200.2x3AF modeSony 240.17x4
0.03 apart (17.6%)
Not weighted
Elements
1 apart (7.7%)
Not weighted
Groups
2 apart (20%)
Not weighted
Aperture blades
2 apart (22.2%)
Not weighted
Side by side, to scale
Focal length on one log scale
Specifications
| Specifications | Sony FE 20mm F1.8 G | Sony FE 24mm F1.4 GM |
|---|---|---|
| Focal length | 20 mm1 | 24 mm2 |
| Widest aperture | f/1.81 | f/1.42 |
| Closest focus | 0.19 m (AF mode)3 | 0.24 m4 |
| Maximum magnification | 0.2x (AF mode)3 | 0.17x4 |
| Weight | 373 g3 | 445 g4 |
| Length | 84.7 mm3 | 92.4 mm4 |
| Diameter | 73.5 mm3 | 75.4 mm4 |
| Elements | 143 | 134 |
| Groups | 123 | 104 |
| Aperture blades | 93 | 114 |
| Hood | ALC-SH1623 | ALC-SH1544 |
| Announced | Not stated | Sep 20, 20182 |
Full specifications, side by side†
Show all 19 rows
| Full specifications, side by side | Sony 203 | Sony 244 |
|---|---|---|
| Product name | FE 20mm F1.8 G | FE 24mm F1.4 GM |
| Model number | SEL20F18G | SEL24F14GM |
| Lens mount | Sony E-mount | Sony E-mount |
| Focal length | 20 mm | 24 mm |
| Lens construction | 12-14 | 10 groups, 13 elements |
| Angle of view | 70 (APS-C) | 61° (APS-C) |
| Angle of view | 94 (35mm format) | 84° (35mm format) |
| Maximum aperture | 1.8 | 1.4 |
| Minimum aperture | 22 | 16 |
| Diaphragm blades | 9 | 11 |
| Circular diaphragm | yes | yes |
| Filter size | 67 mm | 67 mm |
| Hood type | petal-shaped bayonet type | petal-shaped bayonet type |
| Dimensions | 73.5×84.7 mm | 75.4 x 92.4 mm |
| Weight | 373 g | 445 g |
| Included hood model | ALC-SH162 | ALC-SH154 |
| Included front cap model | ALC-F67S | ALC-F67S |
| Included rear cap model | ALC-R1EM | ALC-R1EM |
| Included case type | soft case | soft carrying case |
Rows only one maker lists: 14
Also on the Sony FE 20mm F1.8 G spec page3
| Compatible sensor size | 35mm full-size |
|---|---|
| Focal length image | 30 mm (APS-C size sensor) |
| Minimum focusing distance | 0.19 m (AF mode) |
| Minimum focusing distance | 0.18 m (MF mode) |
| Maximum magnification ratio | 0.20 (AF mode) |
| Maximum magnification ratio | 0.22 (MF mode) |
| 1.4x teleconverter compatibility | no (1.4x teleconverter) |
| 2.0x teleconverter compatibility | no (2.0x teleconverter) |
Also on the Sony FE 24mm F1.4 GM spec page4
| Supported sensor size | 35mm full-size |
|---|---|
| Equivalent focal length | 36 mm (APS-C sensor) |
| Minimum focusing distance | 0.24 m |
| Maximum magnification ratio | 0.17 |
| 1.4x teleconverter compatibility | no (1.4x) |
| 2.0x teleconverter compatibility | no (2.0x) |
How the pick works
- Widest aperture3
Lower wins once they are 0.3 apart.
- Weight2
Lower wins from a 12% gap.
- Focal length (longest)2
Higher wins from a 15% gap.
- Focal length (widest)2
Lower wins once they are 2 mm apart.
- Optical stabilization1
Having it wins.
- Closest focus, wide end1
Lower wins from a 15% gap. Compared only between lenses of the same focal length (widest).
- Filter thread0.5
Lower wins once they are 5 mm apart.
- Lead for a pick1
Our pick or our take adds up the importance of each real difference, with these importances and thresholds: a gap smaller than its row's threshold is too close to call and counts as the same. They are our editorial choice, not a measurement, the same on every page, and they never read prices, sales or who sells it.
Paid placements0
Sources
- Wikidata: Sony FE 20mm F1.8 G, checked Oct 9, 2026 (CC0 1.0)
- Wikidata: Sony FE 24mm F1.4 GM, checked Oct 9, 2026 (CC0 1.0)
- Sony Japan lens specifications (sony.jp): Sony FE 20mm F1.8 G, checked Oct 6, 2026
- Sony Japan lens specifications (sony.jp): Sony FE 24mm F1.4 GM, checked Oct 6, 2026
Worked out by code, not stated by a source
- Read from the lens name: each maker marks the sensor size a lens covers (Sony FE/E, Canon RF/RF-S, Nikon DX, Tamron Di III/Di III-A, Sigma DG/DC); every Fujifilm X lens is APS-C and every Micro Four Thirds lens is Four Thirds.
- Read from the lens name: Sony marks optically stabilized lenses OSS, Canon IS, Nikon VR, Fujifilm OIS, Panasonic O.I.S., Tamron VC and Sigma OS; a lens from these makers without the mark has no optical stabilization.
- Prime or zoom, read from the focal length in the lens name.
Each value is checked automatically against the source it links, on the date shown. How we build these pages
† The makers' own tables, row by row, with labels in our plain words (translated where the maker's page isn't in English); each row's numbers are checked against the page it links.
What we don't know yet
- Announced for the Sony FE 20mm F1.8 G: our sources don't state it yet.