Compare any two Sony E-mount lenses
Pick any two of the 70 Sony E-mount lenses with their own page here to see them side by side in the same table our comparison pages use, every value linked to where it was published. Shown first: the Sony FE 24mm F2.8 G and the Tamron 24mm F2.8 Di III OSD M1:2.
Specifications
The Sony FE 24mm F2.8 G and the Tamron 24mm F2.8 Di III OSD M1:2, side by side.
| Specifications | Sony FE 24mm F2.8 G | Tamron 24mm F2.8 Di III OSD M1:2 |
|---|---|---|
| Closest focus | 0.24 m (AF mode)1 | 0.12 m2 |
| Maximum magnification | 0.13x (AF mode)1 | 0.5x2 |
| Weight | 162 g1 | 215 g2 |
| Length | 45 mm1 | 64 mm2 |
| Diameter | 68 mm1 | 73 mm2 |
| Filter thread | 49 mm1 | 67 mm2 |
| On sale from | Not stated | Nov 20, 20192 |
| Elements | 81 | 102 |
| Groups | 71 | 92 |
| Hood | ALC-SH1651 | Flower-shaped hood2 |
| Announced | Mar 23, 20213 | Not stated |
Same on both
Where each value comes from
- Sony Japan lens specifications (sony.jp), checked 2026-10-06
- Tamron product specifications, checked 2026-10-06
- Wikidata, checked 2026-10-09
What we don't know yet
- On sale from for the Sony FE 24mm F2.8 G: our sources don't state it yet.
- Announced for the Tamron 24mm F2.8 Di III OSD M1:2: our sources don't state it yet.
Comparisons with their own page
Sources
- SIGMA lens specifications (sigma-global.com), checked Oct 15, 2026
- Sony Japan lens specifications (sony.jp), checked Oct 6, 2026
- Tamron product specifications, checked Oct 6, 2026
- VILTROX lens specifications (viltrox.com), checked Oct 6, 2026
- Wikidata, checked Oct 9, 2026 (CC0 1.0)
Worked out by code, not stated by a source
- Focal length and widest aperture as the lens's own name states them.
- Read from the lens name: each maker marks the sensor size a lens covers (Sony FE/E, Canon RF/RF-S, Nikon DX, Tamron Di III/Di III-A, Sigma DG/DC); every Fujifilm X lens is APS-C and every Micro Four Thirds lens is Four Thirds.
- Read from the lens name: Sony marks optically stabilized lenses OSS, Canon IS, Nikon VR, Fujifilm OIS, Panasonic O.I.S., Tamron VC and Sigma OS; a lens from these makers without the mark has no optical stabilization.
- Prime or zoom, read from the focal length in the lens name.
The two you pick, with the rows and rules of our comparison pages and no pick; each value links where it was published. How we build these pages
What we don't know yet
- On sale from for the Sony FE 24mm F2.8 G: our sources don't state it yet.
- Announced for the Tamron 24mm F2.8 Di III OSD M1:2: our sources don't state it yet.