24 Sony FE 24mm F2.8 G vs 24 Tamron 24mm F2.8 Di III OSD M1:2
Sony FE 24mm F2.8 G vs Tamron 24mm F2.8 Di III OSD M1:2: our pick for most people is the Sony FE 24mm F2.8 G. Pick the Sony FE 24mm F2.8 G if you carry it all day or travel light, or you want cheaper filters (weight: 162 g vs 215 g; filter thread: 49 mm vs 67 mm). Pick the Tamron 24mm F2.8 Di III OSD M1:2 if you want to focus closer at the wide end (closest focus: 0.24 m (AF mode) vs 0.12 m).
The pick, in points
Lead for a pick: 1Sony 24
2.5points
Wins on weight and filter thread.
Tamron 24
1points
Wins on closest focus, wide end.
Each real difference scores its importance for the side that wins it; a lead under 1 is “it depends”. How the weights work
The Sony 24 on its ownThe Tamron 24 on its ownAll Sony E-mount lenses
Where they differ
3 of 18 specsEach bar is the gap as a share of the smaller value, on one scale from 0 to 100%; an arrow end is a gap past 100%. The dashed tick marks where a gap starts to count.
Side by side, to scale
Focal length on one log scale
Specifications
| Specifications | Sony FE 24mm F2.8 G | Tamron 24mm F2.8 Di III OSD M1:2 |
|---|---|---|
| Closest focus | 0.24 m (AF mode)1 | 0.12 m2 |
| Maximum magnification | 0.13x (AF mode)1 | 0.5x2 |
| Weight | 162 g1 | 215 g2 |
| Length | 45 mm1 | 64 mm2 |
| Diameter | 68 mm1 | 73 mm2 |
| Filter thread | 49 mm1 | 67 mm2 |
| On sale from | Not stated | Nov 20, 20192 |
| Elements | 81 | 102 |
| Groups | 71 | 92 |
| Hood | ALC-SH1651 | Flower-shaped hood2 |
| Announced | Mar 23, 20213 | Not stated |
Full specifications, side by side†
Rows only one maker lists: 35
Also on the Sony FE 24mm F2.8 G spec page1
| Product name | FE 24mm F2.8 G |
|---|---|
| Model number | SEL24F28G |
| Lens mount | Sony E-mount |
| Compatible sensor size | 35mm full-size |
| Focal length | 24mm |
| Equivalent focal length | 36mm (APS-C size sensor) |
| Lens construction | 7-8 |
| Angle of view | 61 (APS-C) |
| Angle of view | 84 (35mm format) |
| Maximum aperture | 2.8 |
| Minimum aperture | 22 |
| Diaphragm blades | 7 |
| Circular diaphragm | yes |
| Minimum focusing distance | 0.24m (AF mode) |
| Minimum focusing distance | 0.18m (MF mode) |
| Maximum magnification ratio | 0.13x (AF mode) |
| Maximum magnification ratio | 0.19x (MF mode) |
| Filter size | 49mm |
| 1.4x teleconverter compatibility | no |
| 2.0x teleconverter compatibility | no |
| Hood type | Round bayonet type |
| Dimensions | 68 x 45mm |
| Included hood model | ALC-SH165 |
| Included front cap model | ALC-F49S |
| Included rear cap model | ALC-R1EM |
Also on the Tamron 24mm F2.8 Di III OSD M1:2 spec page2
| Diagonal angle of view | 84°04' (for full-frame mirrorless format) |
|---|---|
| Compatible camera mount | SONY E Mount |
| Optical element arrangement | 10 elements in 9 groups |
| Closest focusing distance | 0.12m (4.7 in) |
| Highest magnification ratio | 1:2 |
| Smallest aperture setting | F22 |
| Filter thread diameter | Φ67mm |
| Maximum lens diameter | Φ73mm |
| Lens length | 64mm (2.5 in) |
| Number of aperture blades | 7 (circular diaphragm) |
How the pick works
- Widest aperture3
Lower wins once they are 0.3 apart.
- Weight2
Lower wins from a 12% gap.
- Focal length (longest)2
Higher wins from a 15% gap.
- Focal length (widest)2
Lower wins once they are 2 mm apart.
- Optical stabilization1
Having it wins.
- Closest focus, wide end1
Lower wins from a 15% gap. Compared only between lenses of the same focal length (widest).
- Filter thread0.5
Lower wins once they are 5 mm apart.
- Lead for a pick1
Our pick or our take adds up the importance of each real difference, with these importances and thresholds: a gap smaller than its row's threshold is too close to call and counts as the same. They are our editorial choice, not a measurement, the same on every page, and they never read prices, sales or who sells it.
Paid placements0
Sources
- Sony Japan lens specifications (sony.jp), checked Oct 6, 2026
- Tamron product specifications, checked Oct 6, 2026
- Wikidata, checked Oct 9, 2026 (CC0 1.0)
Worked out by code, not stated by a source
- Read from the lens name: each maker marks the sensor size a lens covers (Sony FE/E, Canon RF/RF-S, Nikon DX, Tamron Di III/Di III-A, Sigma DG/DC); every Fujifilm X lens is APS-C and every Micro Four Thirds lens is Four Thirds.
- Read from the lens name: Sony marks optically stabilized lenses OSS, Canon IS, Nikon VR, Fujifilm OIS, Panasonic O.I.S., Tamron VC and Sigma OS; a lens from these makers without the mark has no optical stabilization.
- Prime or zoom, read from the focal length in the lens name.
- Focal length and widest aperture as the lens's own name states them.
Each value is checked automatically against the source it links, on the date shown. How we build these pages
† The makers' own tables, row by row, with labels in our plain words (translated where the maker's page isn't in English); each row's numbers are checked against the page it links.
What we don't know yet
- On sale from for the Sony FE 24mm F2.8 G: our sources don't state it yet.
- Announced for the Tamron 24mm F2.8 Di III OSD M1:2: our sources don't state it yet.